William A. Drake House / Colonnades Tea House

415 Remington Street

William A. Drake house, 415 Remington. (Archive at the Fort Collins Museum of Discover, H02742.) 

1907 – Drake engages MW Fuller, architect. Subdivides former Loomis property.

1940s? – The Kiefers moved into the house. It appears to have been a duplex or at least had one or two apartments within the house. 

In 1907, Drake purchased a large property formerly owned by Abner Loomis on Remington Street. Drake subdivided the property, selling off Loomis’s house to Mayor Samuel H. Clammer. He then hired the city’s most prestigious architect, Montezuma W. Fuller, to design a new home for him and his family. In June of 1908 the house at 415 Remington was completed at a final cost of $18,000 (Fig. 7-2). It had a large oak front door, a parlor with inlaid mahogany, a library with a large fireplace and built-in golden oak bookshelves, as well as servants’ quarters. 

Drake purchased property from Loomis – Fort Collins Courier, 7 August 1907. Page 17. Montezuma Fuller architect for Drake house – Fort Collins Courier, 18 September 1907. Page 12. Description of residence – The Weekly Courier, 24 June 1908. Page 4.

Kiefers lived at 415 Remington by 1946  – Fort Collins Coloradoan, 16 December 1946. Page 6.

Demolished around 1963 to make room for Big D grocery store.